Cody Stamann plans to enchantment his loss to Douglas Silva de Andrade at UFC Charlotte.
Within the first spherical with just below two minutes, Stamann bought a takedown and as he was on the bottom, de Andrade landed an unlawful up-kick. The ref then known as time to ensure Stamann was okay, however as an alternative of resetting the place or taking a degree, the ref stood them up and de Andrade went on to win the primary spherical.
After all, with de Andrade successful the primary spherical, he ended up winning the fight 29-28 on all three judges’ scorecards. With that, Stamann plans to enchantment the loss as had he stored the highest place, he looks like he would have gained the primary spherical after which gained the combat.
“Clearly, I do know the foundations and he knew he tousled, too. As quickly because it occurs, I lookup on the ref to ensure he noticed it and he known as time. At that time, I’m considering it’s both a degree or a warning and we return to the bottom with me on high, given I had that place. There have been like two minutes left on the clock, too, after which he stands up and says combat,” Stamann mentioned to BJPENN.com.
“I’m type of standing there in protest, I’m like what the f**ok, in the event you stand us up it’s a must to take a degree. I’m confused, however I’ve Douglas in entrance of me attempting to kill me,” Stamann continued. “I can’t name a timeout, so it’s a kind of conditions, I simply needed to recover from instantly. He was principally rewarded for doing one thing unlawful by getting stood up. What stops anybody from up-kicking somebody from the underside if they will’t stand up they usually now know they are going to get stood up and no level taken? You possibly can’t give somebody a bonus in the event that they did one thing unlawful.”
As of proper now, Cody Stamann’s enchantment has not been formally issued however he and his supervisor are writing up the paperwork and can ship it to the North Carolina Athletic Commission quickly.
Nonetheless, Stamann is effectively conscious of the historical past of appeals, so says he wouldn’t enchantment a loss for dangerous judging, even when he thinks he bought robbed. As a substitute, he’s interesting a vital ref error which he thinks performed a task in him dropping, which is why he’s assured the combat will get overturned to a No Contest.
“Earlier than I left, I wanted to talk to somebody from the fee as a result of they simply stole this from me. Everybody on the UFC was tremendous supportive they usually bought the top athletic commissioner to return converse to me,” Stamann mentioned. “She went by what my choices have been, and he or she confirmed me the foundations and what I can enchantment. I’m studying the foundations and that is verbatim what occurs with my combat. Truthfully, I’m feeling fairly assured this going to get become a No Contest or a draw. However the guidelines are clear as day. There’s not a gray space, you’ll be able to’t give somebody a bonus for doing one thing unlawful.”
Presently, Stamann is unsure how lengthy the enchantment will take however he says everybody within the UFC was glad along with his efficiency and informed him he did get screwed by the ref.
Do you suppose Cody Stamann will win his enchantment?